Finding the Things, 2.0


What are the things that make me lean forward?

I brought nine eighth graders to our high school today to meet with the high school’s student government. I saw former students, a lot of former students…some nodded in recognition, some busted out a big ol’ smile, and a few gave me full body hugs. They were not all great ELA students in middle school, but they were all my students and part of my life and my student community and each one holds a pretty special place in my heart. Even the reluctant head nodders.

What are the things that make me laugh?

Today? Today I laughed about the prospect of not laughing when I go to hear a stand-up comedian at a local benefit show. Nothing worse than a bad comedian and the incredible awkwardness of that moment when someone is trying to make you laugh and failing miserably. I also laughed at the recognition that “Young Sheldon” is very different from “Old Sheldon” (known to everyone outside of our house as the “Big Bang Theory”) but everyone accepts that they are the same character because of Jim Parsons. They are not the same character. But that’s kind of funny. At least to me. Today.

What are the things that make me excited?

Despite the bleak future for our middle school’s English program, I am excited about continuing the work in culturally responsive and sustaining education. In particular, I am excited to find better ways to make my classroom welcoming and affirming for all of my students and to tweak my pedagogy to find the spaces that continue to marginalize some of my kids, despite my best efforts. We all have our blind spots, so the potential to uncover mine and connect more deeply with all of my students is exciting.

What do I find beautiful today that I didn’t notice yesterday?

Our forsythia bush that is next to our front door has suddenly popped out yellow dots. Not quite buds, but definitely bits of color sitting in anticipation on the branches.

What are those things?

What are those things? Those are the things that create a life. A precious life that is full and worthy of noticing. I would likely lean in to other things on a different day, laugh about something else altogether, have my excitement peaked by whoknowswhat, and find the beauty elsewhere…but today I just paid a little extra attention and this is what I found. I wonder what tomorrow will bring?


2 responses to “Finding the Things, 2.0”

  1. Such an interesting slice! I like your questions and really enjoyed reading your answers. They reveal so much about your passions and commitment. I like the idea that what “pops” today might be different than what “pops” tomorrow. Also, I have to admit, I was totally clueless about what your old and new Sheldon comments referred to. And that made me laugh! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting. I found myself really looking forward to (even if it is a small group) of students to teach after returning from a big trip. Your enthusiasm is great. Mom

    >

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started