Arriving…


It’s the turning over to the New Year and the search for my One Little Word becomes public. My quest usually begins sometime in mid-December, but doesn’t find it’s way to the world until I finally return to the classroom after break. This is when I am forced to share my word with my students, before asking them to find their own guiding word for the new year. 

Some years, the word is easy to identify and fits just right; some years, the word feels awkward and uncomfortable, like a pair of shoes I really want to love, but that rub in places, threatening blisters and open wounds. This year, the word felt elusive, seeming to hide behind other words and thoughts and stories. The evolution to finding, and accepting, my 2024 OLW was slow and arduous, and it still feels slightly off. But I am committing and that feels definitive and appropriate.

Past OLW:

2016 Canoe

2017 Ubiety

2018 Quest

2019 Stillness

2020   Brave

2021 Joy

2022 Silence

2023  Attention

And, for 2024: Complete. That is my goal, my focus, my North Star for this year. To feel true and whole, repaired and prepared. To stand in my center and touch all of the places that are becoming something more, connect to all of the things that have brought me to this point, and be fully present in the present. Complete.


5 responses to “Arriving…”

  1. I agree with Sally – the process of getting to the word (I love that you refer to it as your North Star) is the part that is so fascinating to me. I wish we could all order t-shirts with our words and have a group photo made – – I love words and the people they choose!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “Prepared and repaired” “stand in my center and touch…”
    I love the physicality of your images as you write about your word, complete. I created vivid mental images. I felt more grounded just reading your piece. What a good, healthy word, hope it serves you well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing the chronology of your choices. Kim’s idea of a tee-shirt with all the choices is inspired, too! Your self(selves) are brilliantly evident. Shine on North Star into 2024.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This sounds like a powerful OLW. I really appreciate how you included all your past words. It seems to me they have all combined and entwined to bring you to this current place and to this current word. I’ll be interested in reading about your journey with “complete.” Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started